FESTIVAL CALELLA HARMONICA
4 Days       5 Artists     
Journées
Heures
Minutes
Secondes

 CALELLA HARMÒNICA FESTIVAL

Calella accueillera le premier Festival d'Harmonie de la péninsule. Coïncidant avec le 31e Festival de jazz et de blues de Calella, nous voulons grandir avec un festival dédié à l'harmonica, qui réunira les meilleurs harmonicistes d'Europe. L'intention est d'être un point de rencontre pour tous les fans et passionnés d'harmonica et de devenir une référence européenne. Du 15 au 18 septembre ce sera plein d'activités : Masterclass, conférences, concerts, la Foire du Disque, des Jams sessions et d'autres activités que nous vous dévoilerons dans les mois à venir.

Auditoire Saleta

Accueil et accréditations.

Carrer de Sant Jaume, 229, 08370 Calella, Barcelone

LORSQUE

15, 16, 17, 18 septembre

Masterclass, conférences, concerts, Record Fair, Jams sessions.

programme

ARTISTES

Marko Jovanović, né avec des racines serbes à Munich en 1978. C'est un oncle qui a grandement influencé le parcours musical de Marko en donnant à son neveu de 13 ans un harmonica, et ce faisant, il a mis le doigt sur la tête. Diane! Marko a été fasciné par le petit instrument littéralement « pratique » et a été immédiatement plongé dans sa compréhension, son exploration et son expérimentation. Grâce à son oncle, un vrai talent s'était éveillé.

Marko était déjà sur scène et sous les projecteurs à l'âge de 15 ans. Ce jeune maître musical de l'harmonica savait déjà ce qu'il allait faire professionnellement.

Après avoir quitté l'école, il a poursuivi la vie d'un musicien professionnel. Il était doté de sa connaissance de la musique, de son expérience de vie et de son ambition, mais surtout de son sens surnaturel des humeurs musicales et des multiples facettes de l'harmonica à bouche.

Après avoir beaucoup voyagé en Afrique de l'Ouest, en Espagne et en Serbie, Marko a décidé de déménager à Berlin en 1999 et a rapidement trouvé plusieurs de ses partenaires musicaux et une nouvelle maison.

En 2001, il a commencé une collaboration de six ans avec le groupe de blues "Lars Vegas & The Love Gloves" et pendant cette période, il a acquis une expérience de tournée internationale et de festival avec ce trio populaire et primé.

En 2007, il rencontre un musicien unique nommé Blues Rudy et ils deviennent rapidement amis et partenaires. Ils travaillent ensemble en duo depuis plus de 4 ans et avec leurs performances énergiques et leurs improvisations, ils ont acquis une clientèle fidèle à travers le pays.

En même temps, Marko a fondé le groupe "Little Sam Lud" avec le guitariste américain Ryan Donohue. En 2011, suite à une invitation de la chanteuse sahraouie Mariam Hassan, ils partent en tournée au Sahara Occidental et en Espagne. En 2012, Marko a entamé une collaboration très fructueuse avec le guitariste Branko Galoic et a réalisé un rêve de longue date de combiner la musique traditionnelle des Balkans avec le blues.

Le public n'est souvent pas familiarisé avec les qualités particulières et la polyvalence de l'harmonica jusqu'à ce qu'il entende Marko Jovanović l'interpréter.

Joan Pau Cumellas. Connu pour sa capacité d'interprétation avec l'harmonica diatonique, Joan Pau Cumellas est un amoureux et un érudit de cet instrument et explore ses possibilités sonores dans différents domaines.

Avec les groupes Barcelona Bluegrass Band, Mr.Hurricane Band et les artistes Quico Pi de la Serra, Big Mama, Miguel Talavera ou Valentí Moya, il se découvre comme un musicien capable de fusionner le blues avec le jazz, la country ou la folk.
Avec ces formations, il a publié jusqu'à 12 CD. De plus, il collabore à 35 autres albums de musiciens tels que : Manolo García (pop), Lotti Lewis, Les deux guitarres (jazz), Moncho (boleros), Sam Lardner (country) y compris d'autres productions de musique pour enfants, gospel et pop -rock. .

Il se produit dans les principaux festivals de blues, de jazz et de folk en Espagne et est connu en France, en Angleterre, en Irlande, en Suisse, en Pologne et en Hollande pour sa participation à des festivals tels que : Harmonica Bridge, Bristol Harmonica Fest., Spring bluegrass Willisau, Blues Sur Seine , Les harmonicales, Cornish Bluegrass Fest., Johnny Kennan Fest., Conyac, Chaumont, Le Puliguen, EWOB…

De même, il travaille comme musicien de studio pour la publicité à la radio et à la télévision et a enregistré de l'harmonica dans diverses bandes sonores de films.

Il est diplômé en psychologie de l'Université de Barcelone et a consacré une partie de sa vie aux questions pédagogiques liées à cette profession. Cette formation l'a marqué dans sa tâche de professeur d'harmonica, qu'il développe depuis 2000. Ses cours pour apprendre à jouer de l'instrument attirent des étudiants de tout le pays.

Victor "Doors" Puertas est né le même jour que Sonny Terry (24 octobre), un grand harmoniciste de Barcelone (Espagne) qui partage également le piano, l'orgue hammond et la guitare. Pourtant, l'harmonica fut son premier amour et la fait parler avec une profonde émotion et une grande sensibilité. Il est l'un des favoris de la liste de Jerry Portnoy.

Il a partagé des moments uniques avec des musiciens tels que Gary Primich, Mark Hummel, Jerry Portnoy, Joe Filisko, Eric Noden, Nathan James, Paul Rishell, Annie Raines, Steve James et Fred Kaplan, parmi tant d'autres.

Il a travaillé comme musicien de session sur plusieurs bandes sonores, a collaboré en tant qu'artiste spécial sur des dizaines d'albums et a donné des centaines de concerts. Tout cela combiné en tant que professeur dans sa ville catalane.

Grzegorz Szlapczyński arrive en France à la fin des années 1980 avec un harmonica entre les mains. Étudiant en informatique à Jussieu, il intègre ses premiers groupes de musique et découvre les clubs parisiens. Très vite, il collabore avec des musiciens tels que Jean-Jacques Milteau, Jean-Marie Ecay ou Olivier Ker Ourio et s'impose comme l'un des meilleurs harmonicistes français et parmi les meilleurs européens.

Greg accompagne également des artistes de blues et de jazz. Chanson française en studio, Florent Pagny, Johnny Hallyday également en tournée depuis 2009 – sur scène (Bill Deraime, Paul personne) et sur les plateaux télé (Francis Cabrel, Maxime Le Forestier, Carlos Aznavour).

En 1998, Greg Szlapczynski crée un rassemblement mensuel de blues à Paris, Gregtime Evenings at Utopia, qui aboutira plus tard à un album live de Gregtime. En 2002, il sort son album électro La part du diable. En 2005, Greg, à Varsovie, signe un album jazz'n blues aux ambiances soul.

En 2017 il participe à la tournée des Vieilles Canailles avec Johnny Hallyday, Eddy Mitchell et Jacques Dutronc.

Basé au Royaume-Uni, le Néo-Zélandais Brendan Power est reconnu par beaucoup comme l'un des harmonicistes les plus créatifs, les plus compétents et les plus polyvalents d'aujourd'hui. Aussi à l'aise sur la harpe blues terreuse que sur l'harmonica chromatique sophistiqué, il les accorde à ses propres échelles pour créer un style très original. Il a enregistré plus de vingt CD solo à ce jour, dans une grande variété de genres musicaux.

Depuis qu'il a déménagé en Grande-Bretagne en 1992, les compétences éclectiques et l'oreille sympathique de Brendan ont fait de lui un musicien de session très demandé, ce qui l'a conduit à travailler en direct et en enregistrement avec des artistes tels que Kate Bush (son dernier album "Director's Cut"), Sting, Van Morrison , James Galway, Paul Young, Shirley Bassey, John Williams, Mike Batt et bien d'autres.

Son jeu est également entendu sur de nombreuses bandes sonores de films hollywoodiens (par exemple, la bande originale primée aux Oscars en 2008 pour "Atonement", "Shanghai Noon" de Jackie Chan), et des séries télévisées de la BBC diffusées à l'échelle internationale (par exemple, "Billy Connelly in Canada", "Auf Wiedersehen Pet' et la série 'Arctic' de Bruce Parry). Il a participé au « Jools Holland Show » de renommée mondiale et a régulièrement tourné dans le monde entier, se produisant dans des lieux tels que le Grand Palais du Peuple de Chine, le Royal Albert Hall et le Kremlin. Brendan a été élu "Joueur international d'harmonica de l'année 2011/12" par l'organisation respectée SPAH d'Amérique.

En plus de ses compétences en pop, jazz et blues, Brendan est un interprète expert de la musique traditionnelle irlandaise (remportant le titre All Ireland en 1993) et a joué pendant trois ans en tant que soliste au Riverdance Show. Il a enregistré avec de nombreux artistes irlandais bien connus, dont Donal Lunny, Altan, Paul Brady, Arcady, Artie McGlynn, Mary Black et d'autres. En février 2012, Brendan et Tim Edey ont remporté le titre de "Meilleur duo" aux BBC Radio 2 Folk Awards 2012.

Vous ne savez peut-être pas que vous connaissez la musique de Will Galison, mais c'est le cas. Vous avez entendu son harmonica unique sur les thèmes de "Sesame Street", "The Untouchables", "Bagdad Café" et des centaines d'autres musiques de films, albums et publicités. Le maître de l'harmonica, Toots Thielemans, a qualifié Will de "le plus original et individuel de la nouvelle génération d'harmonicistes".

Alors que Will est en effet l'un des meilleurs représentants de l'harmonica de jazz, sa carrière de musicien de studio lui a permis d'explorer et d'embrasser de nombreux autres idiomes musicaux, du rythme et du blues aux concertos classiques. C'est pourquoi il a enregistré et/ou joué avec des stars aussi variées que Sting, Donald Fagen (Steely Dan), Tommy Emmanuel, Barbra Streisand, Carly Simon, Chaka Khan, Ruth Brown, Jaco Pastorius, les O'Jays et Peggy Lee.

Will a sorti de nombreux albums sous son propre nom (sur les disques Verve, PolyGram et Aosis) et a enregistré en tant que co-leader avec d'autres grands talents du monde entier. Il a également ravi le public des festivals et des clubs de jazz du monde entier, récemment au Japon et en Inde. Chez lui à New York, il s'est produit dans des salles telles que Carnegie Hall, Joe's Pub et The Blue Note.

En plus des performances de jazz, Will a tourné avec diverses productions de théâtre musical, y compris les deux premières tournées nationales de "Big River" de Roger Miller et trois tournées européennes de "Bagdad Café", mettant en vedette Jveeta Steele ("Calling You"), et mettant en vedette le même réalisateur et compositeur que le film.

VOIR
FORFAITS DISPONIBLES
Personnalisez votre pack selon votre taille et vos besoins

Les prix comprennent 4 jours et 3 nuits en hôtel 4/3 étoiles avec petit-déjeuner et déjeuner compris avec eau et vin, en chambre double. Accréditation personnelle et accès gratuit à toutes les masterclasses, conférences, billets pour tous les concerts et pass spécial pour assister aux Jam sessions. (Les prix n'incluent pas la taxe de séjour qui est payée dans le logement).

VIDÉO

CalellaHarmonicafestival_logo
Logo_ass01 800

NOUS CONTACTER

pour plus d'informations, appelez: +34 608.269.290 +34 645.381.604 e-mail à: info@calellaharmonicafestival.cat

    fr_FRFrench

CALELLA HARMÓNICA FESTIVAL
4 Days       5 Artists      2700 Participants
Days
Hours
Minutes
Seconds

 THE CALELLA HARMÒNICA FESTIVAL

Calella will host the first Harmony Festival of the peninsula. Coinciding with the 31st Calella Jazz and Blues Festival, we want to grow with a festival dedicated to the harmonica, which will bring together the best harmonica players in Europe. The intention is to be a meeting point for all harmonica fans and enthusiasts and to become a European benchmark. From the 15th to the 18th of September it will be full of activities: Masterclass, conferences, concerts, the Record Fair, Jams sessions and other activities that we will be unveiling in the coming months.

WHERE

Auditori Saleta

Welcome and accreditations.

Carrer de Sant Jaume, 229, 08370 Calella, Barcelona

WHEN

15, 16, 17, 18 September

Masterclass, lectures, concerts, Record Fair, Jams sessions.

program

15/9 16:00 Auditori Saleta

Welcome and accreditations

15/9 17:00 Auditori Saleta

Masterclass Victor Puertas

15/9 21:00 Pati Museu

Concert Sweet Brothers + Joan Pau

15/9 23:00 Beach Club

Jam Session live music

16/9 10:00 Auditori Saleta

Masterclass Joan Pau Cumellas

16/9 16:00 Auditori Saleta

Masterclass and conference

16/9 19:00 Espai Far

Concert Marko Jovanovic + guitar (duo)

20:00 Espai Far

Concert Joan Pau Cumellas + band

23:00 Beach Club

Jam session live music

17/9 10:00 Auditori Saleta

Conference

11:00 Auditori Saleta

Masterclass Brendan Power

17/9 Concert dinar

18:00 Auditori Saleta

Masterclass Greg Zlap

19:00 Plaça Ajuntament

Lluís Navarro Band

17/9 21:30 Teatre Sala Mozart

Greg Zlap + band

17/9 22:30

Teatre Sala Mozart

Brendan Power + band

17/9 0:00

Beach Club

18/9

Church Square

Concert closing festival Fredyarmonica Band, Chicago Blues Experience

performers

Marko Jovanović, born with Serbian roots in Munich in 1978. It was an uncle who greatly influenced Marko’s musical path by giving his 13-year-old nephew a harmonica, and in doing so he hit the nail on the head. Diana! Marko was fascinated by the tiny, literally “hands-on” instrument and was immediately immersed in understanding, exploring and experimenting with it. Thanks to his uncle, a real talent had been awakened.

Marko was already on stage and in the spotlight when he was 15 years old. This young musical master of the harmonica already knew what he was going to do professionally.

After leaving school, he pursued the life of a professional musician. He was equipped with his knowledge of music, life experience and ambition, but above all with his uncanny sense of musical moods and the many facets of the mouth harmonica.

After traveling extensively in West Africa, Spain and Serbia, Marko decided to move to Berlin in 1999 and soon found many of his musical partners and a new home.

In 2001 he began a six-year collaboration with the blues band ‘Lars Vegas & The Love Gloves’ and during this period he gathered international touring and festival experience with this popular and award-winning trio.

In 2007 he met a unique musician named Blues Rudy and they quickly became friends and partners. They have been working together as a duo for over 4 years and with their energetic performances and improvisations they have gained a loyal following across the country.

At the same time Marko founded the band ‚Little Sam Lud‘ together with American guitarist Ryan Donohue. In 2011, following an invitation from the Saharawi singer Mariam Hassan, they toured Western Sahara and Spain. In 2012, Marko started a very fruitful collaboration with guitarist Branko Galoic and fulfilled a long-standing dream of combining traditional Balkan music with blues.

Audiences are often not familiar with the harmonica’s special qualities and versatility until they hear Marko Jovanović perform it.

Joan Pau Cumellas. Known for his interpretive ability with the diatonic harmonica, Joan Pau Cumellas is a lover and scholar of this instrument and explores its sound possibilities in different fields.

With the groups Barcelona Bluegrass Band, Mr.Hurricane Band and the artists Quico Pi de la Serra, Big Mama, Miguel Talavera or Valentí Moya, he discovers himself as a musician capable of fusing blues with jazz, country or folk music.
With these formations he has published up to 12 CDs. In addition, he collaborates on another 35 albums by musicians such as: Manolo García (pop), Lotti Lewis, Les deux guitarres (jazz), Moncho (boleros), Sam Lardner (country) including other productions of children’s music, gospel and pop-rock. .

He performs at the main Blues, Jazz and folk festivals in Spain and is known in France, England, Ireland, Switzerland, Poland and Holland for his participation in festivals such as: Harmonica Bridge, Bristol Harmonica Fest., Spring bluegrass Willisau, Blues Sur Seine , Les harmonicales, Cornish Bluegrass Fest., Johnny Kennan Fest., Conyac, Chaumont, Le Puliguen, EWOB…

Likewise, he works as a studio musician for radio and television advertising and has recorded harmonica in various film soundtracks.

He has a degree in Psychology from the University of Barcelona and has dedicated part of his life to pedagogical issues related to this profession. This training has marked him in his task as a harmonica teacher, which he has been developing since 2000. His courses to learn to play the instrument attract students from all over the country.

Victor “Doors” Puertas was born on the same day as Sonny Terry (October 24), a great harmonica player from Barcelona (Spain) who also shares piano, hammond organ and guitar. However, the harmonica was his first love and makes her speak with deep emotion and great sensitivity. He is one of the favorites on JerryPortnoy’s list.

He has shared unique moments with musicians such as Gary Primich, Mark Hummel, Jerry Portnoy, Joe Filisko, Eric Noden, Nathan James, Paul Rishell, Annie Raines, Steve James and Fred Kaplan, among many others.

He has worked as a session musician on several soundtracks, collaborated as a special artist on dozens of albums and played hundreds of concerts. All this combined as a teacher in his Catalan city.

Grzegorz Szlapczyński arrived in France in the late 1980s with a harmonica in his hands. Computer science student at Jussieu, he joined his first music groups and discovered Parisian clubs. Very quickly, he collaborated with musicians such as Jean-Jacques Milteau, Jean-Marie Ecay or Olivier Ker Ourio and has come to be considered one of the best harmonica players in France and among the best in Europe.

Greg also accompanies blues and jazz artists. French song in the studio, Florent Pagny, Johnny Hallyday also on tour since 2009 – on stage (Bill Deraime, Paul personne) and on TV sets (Francis Cabrel, Maxime Le Forestier, Carlos Aznavour).

In 1998, Greg Szlapczynski created a monthly blues gathering in Paris, Gregtime Evenings at Utopia, which would later result in a Gregtime live album. In 2002, he released his electro album La part du diable. In 2005, Greg, in Warsaw, signs a jazz’n blues album with soul atmospheres.

In 2017 he participated in the Vieilles Canailles tour with Johnny Hallyday, Eddy Mitchell and Jacques Dutronc.

UK-based New Zealander Brendan Power is acknowledged by many as one of the most creative, skilled & versatile harmonica players around today. Equally, at ease on both the earthy Blues Harp as well as the sophisticated Chromatic Harmonica, he tunes them to his own scales to create a highly original style. He has recorded over twenty solo CDs to date, in a wide variety of musical genres.

Since he moved to Britain in 1992, Brendan’s eclectic skills and sympathetic ear have made him an in-demand session player, leading to live and recording work with artists such as Kate Bush (her latest album ‘Director’s Cut’), Sting, Van Morrison, James Galway, Paul Young, Shirley Bassey, John Williams, Mike Batt and many more.

His playing is also heard on many Hollywood movie soundtracks (eg. the 2008 Oscar winning soundtrack for ‘Atonement’, Jackie Chan’s ‘Shanghai Noon’), and internationally syndicated BBC TV series (eg. ‘Billy Connelly in Canada’, ‘Auf Wiedersehen Pet’, and Bruce Parry’s ‘Arctic’ Series). He has featured on the world-renowned ‘Jools Holland Show’ and regularly toured worldwide, performing in venues such as China’s Great Hall of the People, the Royal Albert Hall and The Kremlin. Brendan was voted “International Harmonica Player of the Year 2011/12” by the respected SPAH organisation of America.

In addition to his Pop, Jazz & Blues skills, Brendan is an expert player of Irish traditional music (winning the 1993 All Ireland Title), and performed for three years as soloist in the Riverdance Show. He has recorded with many well-known Irish artists including Donal Lunny, Altan, Paul Brady, Arcady, Artie McGlynn, Mary Black and others. In February 2012 Brendan and Tim Edey won the “Best Duo” title at the 2012 BBC Radio 2 Folk Awards.

You may not know you know Will Galison’s music, but you do. You’ve heard his unique harmonica sound on the themes of “Sesame Street”, “The Untouchables”, “Bagdad Café” and hundreds of other movie scores, albums and commercials. Harmonica master, Toots Thielemans, called Will “The most original and individual of the new generation of harmonica players”.

While Will is indeed one of the top exponents of the jazz harmonica, his career as a studio musician has allowed him to explore and embrace many other musical idioms, from rhythm and blues to classical concertos. That’s why he has recorded and/or performed with stars as varied as Sting, Donald Fagen (Steely Dan), Tommy Emmanuel, Barbra Streisand, Carly Simon, Chaka Khan, Ruth Brown, Jaco Pastorius, the O’Jays and Peggy Lee.

Will has released numerous albums under his own name (on Verve, PolyGram and Aosis records) and recorded as co- leader with other major talents from around the world. He’s also delighted audiences at Jazz festivals and clubs around the world, recently in Japan and India. At home in New York he has performed at venues such as Carnegie Hall, Joe’s Pub and The Blue Note.

In addition to jazz performances, Will has toured with various musical theatre productions, including the first two national tours of Roger Miller’s”Big River”  and three European tours of “Bagdad Café”, starring Jveeta Steele (“Calling You”), and featuring the same director and composer as the movie.

CHECK
AVAILABLE PACKS
Customize your pack to your size and needs

The prices include 4 days and 3 nights staying in a 4/3-star hotel with breakfast and lunch included with water and wine, in a double room. Personal accreditation and free access to all masterclasses, lectures, tickets to all concerts and special pass to attend Jam sessions. (The prices do not include the tourist tax that is paid in the accommodation).

VIDEO

CalellaHarmonicafestival_logo
Logo_ass01 800

CONTACT US

for more info, Call: +34 608.269.290 +34 645.381.604 e-mail to: info@calellaharmonicafestival.cat

    en_USEnglish